A Tradition OfSuccess And Client Satisfaction

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Child Custody
  4.  » What you need to know about gun control in Texas

What you need to know about gun control in Texas

On Behalf of | Jul 20, 2022 | Child Custody, Gun Laws

Although Texas is one of the most lenient states on gun control, the state still has rules to follow. You should familiarize yourself with the state’s gun laws if you plan on owning firearms.

Who can’t own a gun

People who have a felony can’t own a gun before the fifth year of their release from prison. Another restriction in place for those who have a felony is they must keep their gun at home. If they were under parole, mandatory supervision or community supervision, then the five-year rule applies to when they are off of parole or supervision.

Domestic violence convictions also impact your right to gun ownership. You must wait five years after release from supervision or confinement to possess a gun.

Age-related restrictions

People who are under the age of 21 may only have their firearms on their property. In order to qualify for a concealed carry license, you must be at least 21 years old.

Gun charges

Illegal possession of a firearm in Texas could result in imprisonment and a fine. Whether gun charges are a misdemeanor or felony depends on the type of weapon and where the weapon was. Illegal carrying of a handgun is usually a Class A misdemeanor in Texas. You may face up to one year in prison and a $4,000 fine. If you were at a place that sells alcohol, then the gun charge is a Third Degree felony. This comes with a potential 2–10-year prison sentence and a maximum $10,000 fine. Illegal possession of a firearm in Texas is a Third Degree felony as well.

Places where you can’t bring a firearm

Certain places in Texas don’t allow firearms. Schools, amusement parks, licensed hospitals, licensed mental hospitals, rooms for open government meetings, civil commitment facilities and correctional facilities don’t allow firearms. However, you could request permission from some of these places. As long as you have written, authorized permission, then you could carry your firearm with you.